Film/Public Viewing, Literature

Women Empowerment: Marguerite Duras – due Corona-Lockdown ONLINE

Marguerite Duras-Filmstill 69 (c) kunstGarten

Literature & Film for International Women’s Day. Irmi Horn remembers the great woman of letters.

FEMBIO writes:

This is how posterity will remember her: Wearing a rosewood-colored man’s hat, a dress of faded raw silk, high-heeled gold lame shoes on her feet, and her mouth made up deep red, the 15-year-old schoolgirl stands on the ferry crossing the Mekong River and sees for the first time the elegant Chinese man who will become her lover.

The childhood of a poor white woman in colonial Indochina, the struggles for survival of her mother, a widowed elementary school teacher, her hatred of her older, drug-addicted brother and her incestuous love for the younger brother, her admiration for the beautiful wife of the governor general (Anne-Marie Stretter) – all these memories run through Marguerite Duras’s work like a leitmotif.

But it was the story of the Chinese lover, which she wrote down when she was 70 years old, that made the avant-garde writer with the strangely floating style of writing a world-famous best-selling author. The novel, awarded the Prix Goncourt, sold 2.3 million copies, and the film, directed by Jean-Jacques Annaud in 1992, was a similar success.

Marguerite DurasAs an 18-year-old, Duras came to Paris in 1932, studied mathematics, law and politics, married a fellow student, Robert Antelme, two years later, suffered a stillbirth, took part in the Resistance in the circle around François Mitterrand. In 1944 Robert Antelme was arrested and deported by the Germans.

After the war, Duras briefly joined the Communist Party, had her long-awaited son by Dionys Mascolo, and wrote like a woman possessed – novels, plays, screenplays (including for Alain Resnais’ film Hiroshima mon amour). In 1966 she began to make her own films, which, with their reduced imagery and dominant off-screen text, were as novel as her books.

In the 1970s, she moved closer to the feminist movement and almost completely banished men from her life. Her longstanding alcoholism led to repeated breakdowns; in October 198S, she fell into a coma; five months later, she awoke and almost immediately began writing again.

The 66-year-old met love once again – Yann Andréa, a 27-year-old homosexual, admirer of her literature, came and stayed, argued with her, endured her tantrums about the impossibility of this love, accompanied her writing, her alcoholic excesses, her late fame, finally her death. Her last text is entitled C’est tout – That’s All.

Marguerite Duras’ oeuvre includes 50 books and plays and about 20 of her own films.

Der Mann im Flur

L’Homme assis dans le couloir

INFORMATION

  • Please make reservations not later than 2 hours before the programme begins: kunstGarten@mur.at or +43 316 262787 according to the Corona guidelines with a current negative test.

Film/Public Viewing, Literatur

WOMEN EMPOWERMENT: Marguerite Duras – bei LOCKDOWN: ONLINE-Ersatzprogramm

Marguerite Duras-Filmstill 69 (c) kunstGarten

Literatur & Film zum Weltfrauentag. Irmi Horn erinnert an die große Literatin.

FEMBIO schreibt:

So wird die Nachwelt sie in Erinnerung behalten: Mit dem rosenholzfarbenen Männerhut, einem Kleid aus verblichener Rohseide, hochhackigen Goldlame-Schuhen an den Füßen und den Mund tiefrot geschminkt, steht das 15-jährige Schulmädchen auf der Fähre, die den Mekong überquert, und sieht zum ersten Mal den eleganten Chinesen, der ihr Liebhaber wird.

Die Kindheit einer armen Weißen im kolonialen Indochina, die Überlebenskämpfe ihrer Mutter, einer verwitweten Grundschullehrerin, der Hass auf den älteren, drogensüchtigen Bruder und die Liebe zu dem jüngeren Halb-Bruder, ihre Bewunderung für die schöne Frau des Generalgouverneurs (Anne-Marie Stretter) – all diese Erinnerungen durchziehen das Werk Marguerite Duras‘ wie ein Leitmotiv.

Aber erst die Geschichte des chinesischen Liebhabers, die sie als 70-Jährige aufschrieb, machte die avantgardistische Schriftstellerin mit der merkwürdig schwebenden Schreibweise zur weltberühmten Bestsellerautorin. Der Roman, mit dem Prix Goncourt ausgezeichnet, verkaufte sich in 2,3 Millionen Exemplaren, der Film, 1992 von Jean-Jacques Annaud gedreht, wurde ein ähnlich großer Erfolg.

Als 18-Jährige kam Duras 1932 nach Paris, studierte Mathematik, Jura und Politik, heiratete zwei Jahre später einen Kommilitonen, Robert Antelme, erlitt eine Totgeburt, nahm an der Resistance im Kreis um François Mitterrand teil. 1944 wurde Robert Antelme von den Deutschen verhaftet und deportiert.

Nach dem Krieg trat Duras kurzfristig der Kommunistischen Partei bei, bekam von Dionys Mascolo den langersehnten Sohn und schrieb wie eine Besessene – Romane, Theaterstücke, Drehbücher (u.a. für Alain Resnais Film Hiroshima mon amour). 1966 begann sie, eigene Filme zu drehen, die mit ihrer reduzierten Bildsprachend dem dominierenden, aus dem »Off« gesprochenen Text ebenso neuartig waren wie ihre Bücher.

In den 1970er Jahren näherte sie sich der feministischen Bewegung und verbannte die Männer fast völlig aus ihrem Leben. Ihre langjährige Alkoholsucht führte immer wieder zu Zusammenbrüchen, im Oktober 198S fiel sie in ein Koma, fünf Monate später erwachte sie und begann fast sofort wieder zu schreiben.

Der 66-Jährigen begegnete noch einmal die Liebe – Yann Andréa, ein 27-jähriger Homosexueller, Bewunderer ihrer Literatur, kam und blieb, stritt mit ihr, ertrug ihre Wutausbrüche über die Unmöglichkeit dieser Liebe, begleitete ihr Schreiben, ihre Alkoholexzesse, ihren späten Ruhm, schließlich ihr Sterben. Ihr letzter Text trägt den Titel C’est tout – Das ist alles.

Das Werk Marguerite Duras‘ umfasst 50 Bücher und Theaterstücke und ca. 20 eigene Filme.

 

Der Mann im Flur

L’Homme assis dans le couloir

L’Homme assis dans le couloir

https://youtu.be/K-L6FMJYi9c 

https://youtu.be/GDyrhCFWmnY 

INFORMATION

  • Aus organisatorischen Gründen bitten wir um Anmeldung bis spätestens 2 Stunden vor Programmbeginn – bei einer Matinée bitte bis zum Vorabend – unter kunstgarten@mur.at oder +43 316 262787 entsprechend den Coronavorgaben mit aktuellem negativen Test.